Sponsored Links
Penmai eMagazine October! | All Issues

User Tag List

Like Tree11Likes
  • 3 Post By PriyagauthamH
  • 3 Post By jv_66
  • 2 Post By SangeetaSharma

Marrying into an indian family

Discussions on "Marrying into an indian family" in "Weddings" forum.

KATH MCKENZIE is offline Newbie

Marrying into an indian family

I am Katherine Mckenzie, I am a white lady from UK. I am 26 years old. I work as an Research Analyst. I am in love with an Indian boy who works with me and we intend to marry next year. He is 38 Years old. I have been in a relationship with him for the 4 years. The good news is his family has agreed for our marriage, and we will be moving permanently to India after our wedding and start the family in Chennai. My fiance has been in the UK 1998 and he wants to go back and I also agreed for that. But the problem is his family very strict brahmins and they also expect me to adhere strictly to their customs. 10 months ago my future mother in law came to tha UK to meet me and my family and our marriage is fixed for 2014. Due to the different culture I am marrying into I have few things I would like to clarify

1. I live a typical life of a western girls would like going to the pub,enjoying my self on night outs, having alcohol( not heavy though), how would I will
    be required to fit my self into a strict orthodox brahmin family

2.I will be required to convert to Hinduism, how should I go about my conversion and how the conversion is done. Once I become a hindu how different will my life be

3.What will be expected of me from my fiance's family

4. What are the things that I will be required to give up in life and what are the new things that I have to adopt in life.

5.What will be my attire after marraige, my future mother in law came to UK during the cold climate and still wore the traditional brahmin style saree.

6.Can you suggest some names that I should take after I convert.

Similar Threads:

Sponsored Links